Daily Archives: January 16, 2013

Lost Luggage and Found Envoys [Kitty’s Journal]

Date: August 27th, 2003

Time:  10:45 PM, LLT [La La Time]

I feel wide awake, even though I’m usually in bed or falling asleep on my feet at this time back home.  I think the time change is going to take some getting used to!  And since I’m up, I might as well update you good folks on the trip here.

There is only one word to describe the trip since our 747 landed:  Chaotic!

It all began with me standing and waiting for my luggage at the carousel.  I waited and waited….but it never came!  I implored one of the older returning teachers to help me figure out what to do.  We went to the help desk, and through a bit of broken language on both sides, we discovered that my two massive, 50-lb suitcases never made it on to the plane!  

It was a good thing I took the advice from the training session seriously, and packed a few necessities in my backpack and carry-on suitcase!  (Do not fear, loved ones; the lady at the help desk told us to expect the luggage in Sad River City in a few days.  Ah, LaLa!)

Having had that sorted out, our one ginormous group split into a few smaller ones, with some folks headed to other gates for other cities, and one small group staying in the international airport’s city.  I followed my group, the one headed to W. province, to the next gate for our final flight.

When we landed again in W. province’s main city, we were somewhat accosted by various ‘friendly’ people wanting to take our luggage…and our money.  I think there were even a few beggars, but it’s hard to tell in a sea of so very many!

This is where my main group broke up; our envoys from the schools were here!  People headed in all sorts of different directions as the envoys came to pick up their new and returning native English-speaking ESL teachers.  I was hurried along by a tiny lady in a smart business suit who was speaking Lala-nese very quickly to everyone who wanted to carry our luggage or take us where we didn’t want to go.  I believe her English name was Jenny, but I’m not sure.  I’ll have to remember to ask when I see her next!

Speaking of which, I think exhaustion just overtook me.  I’ll have to recount more later; dead-tired all of a sudden!

Jet lag, man; it’s no joke!

In my next entry, I’ll endeavor to catch up more, and also answer the question of why I’m using so many euphemisms.  ‘Till tomorrow, friends!

~Kitty Awesome~

A Personal Touch! (Kitty’s Journal)

Date:  August 27th, 2003

Time: 10:30 PM

Location:  On-Campus Apartment in Sad River City, La La Land

So some folks at home have told me that they wanted an easier way to keep up with my experiences and journeys here in La La Land!  I wasn’t sure how to do that; I was already planning on sending out update emails and am working with a friend back home for physical update letters.

shakespeare_blogging

I was talking about this dilemma with Morty, a new friend and fellow American teacher at my university, and he suggested that I start blogging.  I wasn’t too sure about it; I’ve never had a blog before!

Technology is so amazing!  I think this will be the PERFECT way to keep in touch with all the family and friends back home who are interested in more personal updates.

That being said, I’ve already transcribed the first entry from my written diary to this blog.  Feel free to read it here!  (Morty also helped me out with learning some more technical things, like how to make a link!)

I plan on updating at the end of every day.  If I don’t, feel free to email me and push me along!

I look forward to sharing all my adventures with you folks!  😀

~Kitty Awesome~